Open Letter Supporting Initiative 732 by Leading University of Washington Climate Scientists

As atmosphere, ocean, and earth scientists we are deeply concerned about the consequences of man-made climate change. Global temperature in 2015 was the highest on record and is likely to be exceeded this year. Calculations show that unchecked greenhouse gas emissions put us on course for a climate far outside human experience. Today's emissions will still be affecting the climate in a thousand years.

Limiting global temperature rise and its associated consequences will require international action to control emissions. United States leadership is indispensable, and national action is spurred by successful regional efforts.

I-732, the carbon tax swap, is our state's effort.

This Washington State initiative, on the ballot this fall, will tax emissions from burning fossil fuels, decrease the sales tax, eliminate business taxes on manufacturers, and fund a Working Families Tax Rebate. This revenue-neutral measure offers the most progressive change in our tax code in decades and represents a bipartisan effort that rejects ideology.

While many interrelated social and environmental needs demand our attention, complex problems are best solved one step at a time. I-732 is a simple step in the right direction.

As scientists and citizens we urge you to join us in support of I-732 on Election Day.

Oceanography

Kyle Armour, Assistant Professor Karl Banse, Professor Emeritus Jody Deming, Professor Curtis Deutsch, Associate Professor Kyla Drushka, Affiliate Assistant Professor Steven Emerson, Professor Susan Hautala, Associate Professor Albert Hermann, Affiliate Associate Professor Richard Keil, Professor Evelyn Lessard, Professor Parker MacCready, Professor Sabine Mecking, Affiliate Assistant Professor James Murray, Professor Joseph Resing, Affiliate Assistant Professor Emily Roland, Assistant Professor Evan Solomon, Associate Professor LuAnne Thompson, Professor Mark Warner, Associate Professor

Atmospheric Sciences

Dave Battisti, Professor Cecilia Bitz, Professor Dargan Frierson, Associate Professor Qiang Fu, Professor Dennis Hartmann, Professor Daehyun Kim, Assistant Professor Cliff Mass, Professor Abigail Swann, Assistant Professor Joel Thornton, Professor J. Michael Wallace, Professor Emeritus Steve Warren, Professor Emeritus Robert Wood, Professor

Earth and Space Sciences

Marcia Baker, Professor Emerita George Bergantz, Professor Jody Bourgeous, Professor Emerita Mike Brown, Professor David Catling, Professor Knut Christianson, Assistant Professor Ken Creager, Professor Juliet Crider, Associate Professor Bernard Hallet, Professor Robert Holzworth, Professor Steve Malone, Professor Stewart McCallum, Professor Emeritus Michael McCarthy, Professor David Montgomery, Professor Al Rasmussen, Glaciology Scientist Gerard Roe, Professor Eric Steig, Professor John Vidale, Professor and State Seismologist

Atmospheric/Environmental Chemistry, UW Bothell Dan Jaffe, Professor

Department of Chemistry Richard Gammon, Professor Emeritus

Department of Psychology Susan Joslyn, Professor